967 Sqn Air Cadets

What are you doing this weekend?
May 4

Squadron Celebrates Another Fantastic Year

Presentation Evening 2012

Best Cadet - Garion Swann

The Cadets and Staff of 967 BAe Warton Squadron Air Training Corps recently celebrated another fantastic year of achievements at their Annual Awards Dinner held at Ribby Hall near Kirkham.

Almost 100 guests, including Squadron staff, parents, committee members, staff from the Wing and of course our Cadets, witnessed a variety of awards and speeches, including a speech from the Squadron’s Guest of Honour, Wing Commander (Ret’d) Al Simmonite.

Wing Commander Simmonite recounted a number of humorous and thought provoking stories for the benefit of the Cadets and other guests. Speaking for the first time at our dinner was the ‘in-coming’ Commanding Officer of the newly formed Cumbria and Lancashire Wing, who spoke about the challenges the Squadron will face to maintain its high score in the recent inspection and also took time to present the Squadron’s Commanding Officer with the second clasp for his Cadet Forces Medal, representing a total of 24 years adult service with the ATC!

Squadron staff member, Flying Officer Ed Smith, commented on the evening saying:

It was great to see such a good turn out, especially from the Cadets and their families, celebrating the Squadron’s achievements over the past twelve months.

Following the speeches the awards were presented, including a number of promotions. The night concluded with a disco, thoroughly enjoyed by all, especially the Wing Commander who was the last person to leave the dance floor and dinner!

The full list of awards presented is below:

Shooting and Marksmanship Sports Cadet (Female) Sports Cadet (Male) Commuity Engagement NCO’s Cadet of the Year
FS Adam Haynes Cdt Sam Heap Cpl Daniel Lowe Cdt Stephen Carr Cdt Leo Spencer
Excellence in Exams Best New Recruit Most Improved Cadet NCO of the Year Cadet of the Year
Cdt Katy Lenney Cdt Harriet Cunningham Cdt Ryan Shields Cpl Lucy Bailey Cdt Garion Swann
Aerospace Modeller (Female) Aerospace Modeller (Male) Best Flight President’s Prize
Cdt Rachel McManus Cdt Joshua Stretton Typhoon  Cdt Rachel McManus
ATC Swimming Proficiency
Cdt Michael Parker, Cdt Sgt Shaun Perry, Cdt Ryan Shields, Cdt Sam Heap, Cdt Robert Parker, Cdt Harriet Cunningham, Cdt Ambar Holt, Cdt Rachel McManus, Cdt Stephen Carr and Cdt Kayleigh Wilson
Heart Start Award
Cdt Ryan Shields, Cdt Bobby Saxton, Cdt Michael Parker, Cdt Garion Swann, Cdt Sam Heap, Cdt Rachel McManus, Cdt Katy Lenney and Cdt Cpl Lucy Bailey
Promotion Cadet to Corporal Promotion Cadet to Corporal Promotion Cadet to Corporal Promotion Corporal to Sergeant Promotion Corporal to Sergeant
Cdt Garion Swann Cdt Sam Heap Cdt Kay Lenney Cpl Nathan Dale Cpl Lucy Bailey

One Response to “Squadron Celebrates Another Fantastic Year”

  1. No Rank says:

    It was an very good night, thoroughly enjoyed it 😀